Zonderland will be may first for the fifth time the Sportsman of the Year

Epke zonderland will be can Wednesday night to write history by for the fifth time the Sportsman of the Year to be elected. The turner has just as judoka Anton Geesink and skater Ard Schenk ‘Jaap Eden’ four times received.

The 32-year-old zonderland will be together with Kjeld Nuis and Jeffrey Herlings nominated for the election of Sportsman of the Year 2018. At the world CHAMPIONSHIPS artistic gymnastics was the Fries for the third time in his career, world champion on the high bar.

Previously, zonderland will be in 2009 and from 2011 to 2013 was elected the Sportsman of the Year. Only Schenk (1970 and 1972) won the prize three times in a row.

Except zonderland will, there is only one other turner who is the Sportsman of the Year was. Yuri van Gelder fell the honour in 2005.

Motorcrosser Herlings and skater Now for the first time are nominated for the election of Sportsman of the Year. Herlings was this year the first Dutch world champion in the MXGP class and won seventeen of the twenty Grands Prix. Nuis grabbed at the Olympic Winter games in Pyeongchang gold in the 1,000 and 1,500 metres.

Recordwinnaars Sportsman of the Year

  • 1. Anton Geesink (judo) 4
    2. Ard Schenk (speed skating) 4
    3. Epke zonderland will be (gymnastics) 4
  • 4. Pieter van den Hoogenband (swimming) 3
  • 5. Johan Cruijff (football) 2
    6. Lenstra (football) 2
    7. Kees Verkerk (ice skating) 2
    8. Joop Zoetemelk (cycling) 2

Four nominated women won never

When the women come there in any case a new winner. The four nominees Suzanne Schulting (racin), Jorien ter Mors (speed skating), Anna van der Breggen and Annemiek van Vleuten (cycling) won the prize never.

The price of Sportswoman of the Year went most often to a cyclist: fourteen times. Leontien van Moorsel received the award six times, and shares this record with kunstschaatster Sjoukje Dijkstra.

In 1951, for the first time a Dutch Athlete of the Year elected. Since 1959, a distinction is made between men and women.

The sports Gala in Amsterdam begins Wednesday at 20.30.

Recordwinnaars Sportswoman of the Year

  • 1. Sjoukje Dijkstra 6
    2. Leontien van Moorsel 6
  • 3. Ada Cook 3
    4. Marianne Vos 3
  • 5. Enith Brighita (swim) 2
    6. Ingrid Haringa (cycling) 2
    7. Ranomi Kromowidjojo (swimming) 2
    8. Keetie van Oosten-Hagen (cycling) 2
    9. Dafne Schippers (athletics) 2
    10. Bettine Vriesekoop (table tennis) 2
    11. Ireen Wüst (speed skating) 2

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular