Van Dijk in England Footballer of the Year named

Virgil van Dijk is Sunday named Player of the Year in the English Premier League. The defender of Liverpool by his colleagues rewarded for an excellent season.

Van Dijk trumps in the election of spelersvakbond PFA, among others, the Manchester City trio Raheem Sterling, Sergio Agüero and Bernardo Silva. Also his team-mate Sadio Mané and Eden Hazard of Chelsea were nominated. Sterling (24) was voted best young player of the year.

It is the second year in a row that the trophy for best player to someone from Liverpool. Last season won Mohamed Salah the price. A year earlier, went the trophy to N’Golo Kanté.

For the election of all the members of the PFA vote. Players may not on their own teammates vote.

Van Dijk was especially grateful for the price. “It is a great honor and recognition to the players who every week plays distinguish. I’m very proud. Ultimately, I’m here also thanks to my team, everyone at Liverpool should here the credits for them.”

Congratulations, liberal democrats! ?
@VirgilvDijk has been named as the @PFA Players’ Player of the Year. ? #PFAawards

AvatarAuteurLFCMoment of plaatsen21:41 – april 28, 2019

Van Dijk fourth Dutch winner

The defender is the fourth Dutchman to the price. Dennis Bergkamp was, in 1998, the first of which that honour. Then, Ruud van Nistelrooij (2002) and Robin van Persie (2012) by their colleagues to be awarded.

Van Dijk, one and a half season ago from Southampton happened to experience an excellent season with Liverpool. Not only do the ‘Reds’ a throw back to the first championship title since 1989/1990, but also is the formation in the semi-finals of the Champions League. FC Barcelona is the opponent.

Van Dijk is the eighth player from Liverpool that the price of the PFA. Terry McDermott (1980), Kenny Dalglish (1983), Ian Rush (1984), John Barnes (1988), Steven Gerrard (2006), Luis Suarez (2014), and so Salah went to the captain of Orange. Only players from Manchester United (eleven times) won the prize, which since 1974 is awarded more often.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular