Thirteenth race, Peterhansel in the Dakar Rally, trucker De Rooy third

Dakar Rally

Thirteenth race, Peterhansel in the Dakar Rally, trucker De Rooy third

Stephane Peterhansel, the Dakar Rally for the thirteenth time won. Gerard de Rooy in the trucks as the third ended. Sam Sunderland triumphed in the engines.

De Rooy started the day with a backlog of almost forty minutes on the Russian Eduard Nikolaev, and about 25 minutes on number two Dmitry Sotnikov.

That backlog knew the Brabant trucker in the 60 km short final stage to Buenos Aires, not to the bridge. He lost two minutes in Nikolaev, which in Argentina, his second victory achieved.

The Russian was earlier in 2013, the strongest in the heavy woestijnrally.


The 51-year-old Jake is now six victories on the bikes, and seven for the cars. He is record holder. His nickname is not for nothing that ‘Monsieur Dakar’.

Country – and team-mate Sebastien Loeb was Saturday, the fastest and continued to Put nineteen seconds. Peterhansel kept the overall a lead of five minutes and thirteen seconds on Loeb.

Thursday, threatened to Put his leadership position to lose to Loeb. A few hours after the finish he was still, as the winner of the day declared.

Peterhansel ran waste of time because he is the injured Slovenian motorcycle racer Simon Marcic after a collision friendly. Peterhansel remained with his injured colleagues until medical help came. The time which he with stop lost, was the final winner back from the jury.


When the engines went out of the race for the first time, to a Brit. Sunderland saw its leading position in the slotrace of Saturday no longer in danger.

The KTM rider took the fifth stage of the Dakar Rally for the lead and defended his lead in the slotweek with success.

The Australian Toby Price, last year’s winner, left the rally after the fourth stage in which he broke a leg.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular