Shutter, Orie, baanwielrenners and Mentel award at sports Gala

Highest number Shutter and Jac Orie are on Wednesdays at the sports Gala of the NOC*NSF, both named Coach of the Year. The baansprinters, this year at the world CHAMPIONSHIPS and european CHAMPIONSHIPS gold picked up, were chosen as Team of the Year and Bibian Mentel was Paralympic Athlete of the Year.

Orie, who is with Team Jumbo Visma coach of, among others, Kjeld Nuis and Sven Kramer, and Shutter, the coach of tennis player Kiki Bertens, got same number of votes. There were thus for the first time two Coaches of the Year.

For Orie, it is already his third NOC*NSF, Coach Award, after he the prize in 2013 and 2017 also already got. Shutter managed to Match in to the top ten of the WTA-ranking of pilots.

Orie did in his acceptance speech, a call especially to the youth more to the exercise, to get. “We must save the youth”, said the successful schaatscoach. Shutter took emphatically pupil Bertens in his acceptance speech.

“It is an insanely great honour to have this journey with her. She stood again today for four hours, hard to do everything to the highest level to play tennis. They turn even the Gala.”

Two-time olympic champion Nuis was in Amsterdam Sportsman of the Year named, while in the women the Jaap Eden Award for Suzanne Schulting was.

Teamsprinters trumps other world champions

The baanwielrenners Nils van ‘t Hoenderdaal, Harrie Lavreysen, Jeffrey Hoogland and Matthijs Then won at the track cycling world CHAMPIONSHIPS title. That was the first time in the history. They packed up in addition, EK-gold. When reed Roy van den Berg in place of Then.

The five men, that the Jaap Eden Award received from the hands of Rafael van der Vaart were preferred over two other world champions. The hockeysters and the zeilduo Annemiek Bekkering/Annete Duetz (49er FX) fingering in addition to the price.

“We are very happy that we this price receive. It is a huge honor. We are pleased that our performance by your valued”, according to Lavreysen.

“What makes our team so good is that we put our individual interests aside. This is the best year of our career, it is a fact. For the first time, Netherlands became world champion on this part. The ultimate goal is gold at the Games of Tokyo.”

Mentel won two times paralympic gold

The 46-year-old Mentel won at the Paralympics in Pyeongchang gold on the components of the snowboardcross and banked slalom and got in AFAS Live the Jaap Eden Award.

The Utrecht got it from a jury of professionals and athletes with the A-status of the preferred rolstoeltennisser Diede de Groot, the winner of the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, and the rolstoelbasketbalsters that undefeated world champion.

Four years ago, it was Mentel also been to Paralympic Athlete of the Year declared. At the time she won also the olympic title on the snowboardcross. Last year the prize went to handbiker Jetze Plat.

“My heaven. Let settle, you know”, stammered an emotional Mentel. “First of all, a huge thank you that you have chosen. Medical specialists and physiotherapists. Without them I would not be stood. Of course my family also. You guys are wonderful. Last but not least: my husband. Without you I could not. We have worked to achieve, I am so proud of you.”

Old-skater Marianne Timmer was on the gala awarded the Fanny Blankers-Koen Award, a career price. Matthijs de ligt became the first footballer ever to the Young Talent Award, the prize for talent of the year.

See also:
Nuis and Schulting on Show, voted Athletes of the Year

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular