News

ing ways? Here is how to remove a Facebook profile from your account

(Credit: Netflix)

Now, almost everyone uses Netflix. Whether you have a paid subscription or a not-good-charger (just kidding!) the characters in using someone else’s credentials, the chances are that you’re a regular user. And if it’s your credit card on file, you’re in charge of the profiles.

Netflix adds Profiles feature back in 2013, allowing users to set up to five different sub-accounts — thus preventing auto-suggestions to reduce the impact of an overview of the different viewers. So, maybe you have separate profiles for your children, with your significant other … maybe even your dog! (Hint: He likes Air Bud.) Sometimes, though, things don’t work as planned, and you need to have a profile of your screens and out of your life. But how? Well, that is what we are here to tell you.

Note: If you try to delete unwanted history view, so you don’t get weird or incorrect suggestions from Netflix, you do not need to delete the whole profile. Just go to your computer and go to the view activity page (under account management), manually remove anything that you don’t watch (or don’t want others to know that you did).

The removal of the PC

More From Digital Trends

  • Cord-cutting 101: How to quit cable for online streaming video

  • How to convert your videos from MKV to MP4 in a few quick steps

  • How to change your username on a Mac

First, you will need to sign in to your Netflix account. If you are using a mobile phone, you will want to use the Netflix app for iOS or Android instead of a browser. If you’re on a computer, you are probably already logged in, but if not, just go to Netflix and press Sign in, located in the upper-right corner of the screen.

Once you are inside (you may be prompted to select a profile, select the profile that you, personally), click on the icon in the upper-right corner to open a dropdown menu, and select Manage Profiles.

Go to the profile you want to delete and click the pencil icon in the centre. Then, you will see a menu that looks like this:

Click on Delete Profile, then on the next screen, click Delete Profile again. Poof! That profile, and view history are now, well, history. You will automatically return to the Manage Profiles screen; click on Done to return to the profile selection screen.

The removal of a smartphone or tablet

You can also bounce profiles of the Netflix app. Open it, and select Sign In located in the upper-right corner of the screen. As soon as you enter your data, you will be taken to the profile selection screen. Once again, you head to the upper right, where it says Edit.

Tap that, and a little pencil icons will appear on each profile. Tap the profile you want to delete and then tap Delete (you will see a small icon to the trash). You will be one of those “are you sure?” screens, so confirm your choice, voila! Not more profile. You are now free to look at the best shows and best movies, the streaming service has on tap.

The deletion of a streaming device or smart TV

The process for removing a profile from a streaming device (such as a Roku or an Amazon Fire TV) or a smart-TV is different depending on the operating system that is installed on your device of choice. Usually, however, it is quite easy to figure out.

Open your Netflix app, and often the profile selection screen will provide a method for uninstall (for example, the Roku Netflix app has a little pencil icons that you can feel below the profile icons). If not, try looking for a Settings screen, and explore. If that doesn’t work, you may need to use a computer or mobile device.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular