Nuis and Schulting on Show, voted Athletes of the Year

Kjeld Nuis and Suzanne Schulting are Wednesday, during the Gala of Dutch olympic committee NOC*NSF to Sportsman and -woman of the Year declared. The skater and the shorttrackster were in Amsterdam, was awarded the Jaap Eden Award.

The 29-year-old Nuis got in AFAS Live in preference to turner Epke zonderland will and motorcrosser Jeffrey Herlings. The choice was determined by a jury of professionals and sportsmen that the A-status from NOC*NSF.

Nuis won this year two gold medals during the Olympic Games in Pyeongchang. The pupil of coach Jac Orie triumphed in the 1,000 and 1,500 metres.

The born South-Hollander was surprised that he received the prize. He had no speech prepared. “I saw my name after Epke zonderland will be, that there is in all elections. And Jeffrey Herlings was the first Dutch world champion motocross. So I am very proud. I have worked damned hard at it.”

Now follows the table of honor Tom Dumoulin. The cyclist was not this year to the three contenders, though his name was on the shortlist.

The last langebaanschaatsers for Nuis to the Sportsman of the Year was named was Mark Tuitert. He got that prize in 2010. Then went to the Jaap Eden Award, including three times to the zonderland will.

Schulting beats three concurrentes

The 21-year-old Schulting was in Pyeongchang, the first Dutch shorttracker olympic champion in the 1,000 meters to win and received the award from the hands of ex-cyclist Bram Tankink.

Schulting had three concurrentes checkout: cyclists Anna van der Breggen (who was absent) and Annemiek van Vleuten and Jorien ter Mors, who last season skating and short track combined. Last year the prize went to athlete Dafne Schippers.

In addition to the olympic gold grabbed Schulting in Pyeongchang also bronze with the aflossingsploeg, where Ter Mors also formed a part. She is the first shorttrackster that Sportswoman of the Year. Sjinkie Knegt was that in 2015 all the men.

“I find this very bold and fantastic. It is great honor that I award are allowed to take. I would like to thank my parents and sisters. I was sometimes quite annoying, but in the end, it is all goedgekomen” said Schulting, a special thank you addressed to her teammates Daan Breeuwsma and Sjinkie Knegt.

Before, it was Bibian Mentel already voted Paralympic Athlete of the Year. The baanwielrenners, European and world champions were on the teamsprint, received the award for Team of the year. Orie and highest number Noc were both up Coach of the Year declared.

See also:
Mentel, baanwielrenners, Orie and Shutter to Show, distinguish

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular