“I don’t feel at home in this world anymore’ and ‘Dina’ big winners at Sundance Film Festival

In Park City, a small ski resort in the mountains of Utah, is the festival of the independent film the Sundance Film Festival reached the end. The big winners are “I don’t feel at home in this world anymore’ and ‘Dina’.

Melanie Lynskey and Elijah Wood in “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore’ © .

The directorial debut of Macon Blair, “I don’t feel at home in this world anymore’ won the Grand Jury Prize in the fiction category. In the movie, including Melanie Lynskey and Elijah Wood is a depressed woman looking for the burglars who have robbed.

The Grand Jury Prize for documentary went to ‘Dina’, a painting about a woman who since her birth has already ‘different’ and on the eve of her wedding with her equally unconventional man. Creators Dan Sickles and Antonio Santini to see their film as an ode to everyone’s differences.

“Fucking nonsense”

During the whole ceremony was regularly referred to (the policy of) Trump and the Women’s March on Washington. So welcomed Sundance-director, Keri Putnam, specifically the filmmakers from muslim countries during the opening speech and also a lot of the winners spoke out against the American president and for women’s rights.

So said comedian Larry Wilmore before the Grand Jury Prize handed out to ‘Dina’: “Even though I grew up christian, today I am a muslim. Tomorrow should I go to the airport and I will once again be a christian. But today I am muslim.” Winner Blair was referring to the protests in Washington: “These things make me hopeful in times full of bullshit. All this fucking nonsense. Probably going to these things not as big an influence on me, but for the people for whom it will be: I’m on your side.”

Best direction in a documentary went to Peter Nicks with his burning hot ‘The Force’ because of the provocative cinemtografie and immersive movie style. For fiction went the same price for ‘Beach Rats’ by Eliza Hittman, in her bedankingsspeech uithaalde to the sexism in the film industry and decided with the warning: “Hollywood, I’m coming for you.”

The audience award went to ‘Crown Heights’, by Matt Ruskin. The film is based on the true story of Colin Warner, the legal system, fought after wrongly convicted.

The jury was also prompt with a new trophy, the george Orwell Award. Thus she wants a movie reward during a time of post-truth, a truth brings to light. Bryan Fogels ‘Icarus’, about the Russian doping scandal, the first film in the history of the film festival award me back home is allowed to take.

Our country fell a little bit in the prices. The Belgian cameraman and ‘director of photography’ Manu Dacosse won the jury prize for best photography (category cinema) for the film ‘Defect is Overkill of the German director Helene Hegemann.

All prices

Grand Jury Prize: “I don’t feel at home in this world anymore.”

Audience Award: “Crown Heights”

Directing: Eliza Hittman, “Beach Rats”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Matt Spicer and David Branson Smith, “Ingrid Goes West”

Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Performance: Chanté Adams, “Roxanne, Roxanne”

Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Director: Maggie Betts, “Novitiate”

Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Daniel Landin, “the Yellow Birds”


Grand Jury Prize: “Dina”

Directing: Peter Nicks, “The Force”

Orwell Award: “Icarus”

Audience Award: “Chasing Coral”

Special Jury Award for Editing: Kim Roberts and Emiliano Battista, “Unrest”

Special Jury Award for Storytelling: Yance Ford, “Strong Island”

Special Jury Award for Inspirational Filmmaking: Amanda Lipitz, “Step”


Grand Jury Prize: “The Nile Hilton Incident”

Audience Award: “I Dream in Another Language”

Directing Award: Francis Lee, “God’s Own Country”

Screenwriting: Kirsten Tan, “Pop Aye”

Special Jury Award for Cinematic Visions: Jun Geng, “Free and Easy”

Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Manu Dacosse, “Defect Overkill”


Grand Jury Prize: “Last One in Aleppo”

Audience Award: “Joshua: Teenager usa. Superpower”

Directing Award: Pascale Lamche, “Winnie The Pooh”

Special Jury Award for Masterful Storytelling: Catherine Bainbridge, Alfonso Maiorana, “Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World”

Special Jury Award for Editing: Ramona S. Diaz, “Motherland”

Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva, “Machines”


Next Audience Award: “Gook”

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize: “Marjorie Prime”

Source: Variety

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular