Golden Globes to kick off 2018 price high season: What to know about the show

The Golden Globes will air Sunday, Jan. 7 at 8 p.m. and on NBC.

(Reuters )

Stars will descend on the Beverly Hilton on Jan. 7 for the 75th annual Golden Globes, the first in a series of award shows scheduled for early 2018.

The Bulbs, which was started by the non-profit Hollywood Foreign Press Association and held for the first time in 1944, to honor the best in film and television. The members of the HFPA determine the presentation of the winners.

In short, a total of 25 prizes will be awarded at the Globes — 14 for movies and 11 for TV.

Here is what you need to know about the ceremony.

When are the Golden Globes?

The Golden Globes takes place on Sunday, Jan. 7 at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California. The show starts at 8 pm ET and will be broadcast live on NBC.

Who is hosting?

Seth Meyers is hosting the 2018 Golden Globes.


Seth Meyers, the host of “Late Night with Seth Meyers” on NBC, will host the Globes for the first time this year. Jimmy Fallon hosted the year prior.

Comedian Ricky Gervais will host the award show in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2016, with Amy Poehler and Tina Fey to take over the hosting responsibilities during that three year difference.

What about the top nominees?

Meryl Streep has a nomination for best actress for her role in Steven Spielberg’s “The Post.”

(Reuters )

Guillermo del Toro’s Cold War-era tale “The Shape of Water” had seven nominations, while the HBO drama “Big Little Lies” led television with six nominees nods.

Steven Spielberg’s Pentagon Papers drama “The Post” received six nominations, including best actress for Meryl Streep and best actor Tom Hanks. Martin McDonagh’s revenge drama “Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri” also had six nods, including best actress for Frances McDormand and actor in a supporting role for Sam Rockwell.

You can see all of the categories and nominees here.

Who is this year’s Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient?

Oprah Winfrey will receive the Cecil B. DeMille award on Jan. 7.

(Reuters )

Talk show host Oprah Winfrey will receive the award, named after the American filmmaker, Cecil B. DeMille. DeMille made 70 films between 1914 and 1956, including The “King of Kings” and “The Greatest Show on Earth.”

The DeMille Award is awarded annually to a “person who has made an incredible impact on the world of entertainment.” Past recipients are Freeman, Meryl Streep, Jodie Foster, Barbra Streisand, Sidney Poitier and Lucille Ball.

What should I know?

Actors and actresses are planning to wear black this year is the award show to protest against sexual harassment in the entertainment industry, PEOPLE reported.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Madeline Farber is a Reporter for Fox News. You can follow her on Twitter @MaddieFarberUDK.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular