News

Facebook photo bug: How to look like you’re exposed

FILE – In this March 29, 2018, file photo, the logo for Facebook will appear on the screens at the Nasdaq MarketSite in New York’s Times Square.
(AP Photo/Richard Drew, File)

Facebook once again has a undersized. On Dec. 14, the company announced that it is accidentally exposed to 6.8 million users photos to third-party apps that are not supposed to have.

If you have granted a third-party app access your Facebook photos from the Sept. 13-25, 2018, the bug allowed access to all of your photos, not only those posted on your timeline. This means that photos that you posted privately, or that you’re not ready with the upload, perhaps there are.

Facebook promised that it would send a notification to users that were exposed. However, if you don’t want to wait, you can check for yourself.

If you want to be super thorough, you can check what third-party apps that you may have granted photo permissions in this time. Or, you can use the following steps as a shortcut.

1. Log in to your Facebook account. Open Facebook and type your username and password in the text boxes in the top right corner. Or select your profile photo on the left.

2. Go to this page on Facebook Help Center.

3. Go to the middle of the page. If your account was affected, you will see a list of apps that may have had unintended access to your photos. If your account was not affected, you see a message that says: “Your Facebook account is not affected by this problem and the apps which you had no access to your other photos.”

If Facebook says that your photos were affected, make sure to check out the apps in lists and delete all the photos that shouldn’t be there.

More Of Tom’s Guide

  • Here is the One Gmail Setting that You Activate Now
  • How to Delete Your Facebook Account
  • Here is the One Gmail Setting that You Activate Now
  • The Best Free Antivirus Software

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular