Draw for first Nations League: a manual

In Lausanne is Wednesday have been drawn for the first Nations League, the new landentoernooi of the UEFA. A manual.

The Red Devils start this fall on the first Nations League. © BELGAIMAGE


The first edition of the UEFA Nations League will start after the world cup 2018. The qualifiers are in september, October and november 2018 played over six matchdays. The final will take place in June 2019.


The UEFA Nations League is a new football competition for national teams, held every two years will be between the 55 member states of UEFA. The concept was on march 27, 2014 on the occasion of the 38th UEFA congress in Astana (Kazakhstan) by all the members approved.


The original idea comes from the then-UEFA president Michel Platini and emerged from the experience of federations and coaches that friendly competitions not the quality of the offer to the interlandvoetbal to improve. The intention was to have a more competitive and prestigious, and offer alternative, namely (qualification)match in a competition maturation, and with a high final tournament in each odd-numbered year.

The initiative also creates more balance between the European club football (as an annual major event, the Champions League) and the European landenvoetbal (as a quarterly event the EK). With the Nations League between the world cup and european CHAMPIONSHIPS, there will be now at the end of every football season, a top tournament for national teams.


The Nations League will be the most friendly international matches replaced. But there will be, emphasizes the UEFA, in the calendar room for oefenmatchen, such as, for example, intercontinental confrontations and preparation races in major tournaments.

What else?

The UEFA Nations League will be linked to the qualifications for the european CHAMPIONSHIP: 4 of the 24 participants at the european CHAMPIONSHIP 2020 will be via the Nations League places. That will happen during the play-offs in march 2020 between in principle, the 16 group winners of the Nations League. Has a top of their group all through the regular EK-qualifications posted for the EK, then it will be replaced by the next team in the ranking. Are in a group all the teams already qualified for the european CHAMPIONSHIPS, then draw from the other groups of the same division/League (on the basis of row: position in the group, points, doelpuntenverhouding, made goals, on the move, created goals, won contests, uitzeges, disciplinary points and coefficient). Easier said for the play-offs places per division the best four countries that are not through the regular european CHAMPIONSHIPS-qualifications for the european places.

The play-offs by division four in a knockout system played, which will result in each division, one additional EK-participant will deliver. Via the Nations League to get countries that are not via the regular qualifications for the european CHAMPIONSHIPS could place so a second chance to participate in the tournament.

The qualifiers for the european CHAMPIONSHIPS 2020 will start in march 2019, so not all in september 2018. Through this road will be located 20 of the 24 participants in the european CHAMPIONSHIPS places: the winners and the school years known as seconde of the 10 kwalificatiegroepen.

The ranking of the Nations League will be decisive for the potindeling when the draw of the european CHAMPIONSHIP qualifications, which will happen after the end of the (qualifications of) the Nations League.


The 55 member states of the UEFA on the basis of the coefficient for national teams in four divisions divided. League A (the highest class) has 12 teams, as League B. League C has 15 and League D (the lowest class) 16.

Each division will on Wednesday 24 January in the Swiss Tech Convention Centre in Lausanne in four pools of three or four teams be divided (the draw is done on the basis of the potindeling above). Each team plays from september to november four or six qualifiers in his group.

The four group winners of the A-class play in June 2019 for the first championship of the UEFA Nations League. That will happen in a knockout system with two semi-finals, a final and a match for the third place. Where this final round will take place, until the end of 2018 determined, so after the four qualifying countries for the final tournament are known.

The four group winners of the B-, C – and D-class graduate with an eye on the next edition of the UEFA Nations League all twelve of respectively the A-, B – and C-class. Who as the last ends in his group of the A-, B – or C-class drops to respectively the B-, C – and D-class.



Pot 1: Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain

Pot 2: France, England, Switzerland, Italy

Pot 3: Poland, Croatia, Iceland, The Netherlands


Pot 1: Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia

Pot 2: Sweden, Ukraine, Ireland, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot 3: Northern Ireland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Turkey


Pot 1: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia

Pot 2: Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway

Pot 3: Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland

Pot 4: Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania


Pot 1: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia

Pot 2: Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg

Pot 3: Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta

Pot 4: Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar

(1) The executive committee of the UEFA decided that Russia and Ukraine are not in the same group can be drawn.

(2) By winterrestricties, it was decided that a group of at most two of the following teams can include: Norway, Finland, Estonia and Lithuania.

(3) It was decided that Armenia and Azerbaijan are not in the same group can be drawn.

To excessive travel, it was decided that a group within one of the following landenparen can include: Andorra & Kazakhstan; Faeroe & Kazakhstan; Gibraltar & Kazakhstan; and Gibraltar & Azerbaijan.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular