From buying bullets to cast ballots in States across the country, heralding a wave of new laws in the year 2018.
California recreational cannabis market opens its doors to residents, beginning Monday at 6 a.m., buyers that are 21 years of age or older, legally permitted to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana and up to 8 grams of concentrated.
The “Golden State”, and adds two others – Maine and Massachusetts– for the legalization of recreational pot next year – bringing the total number of States to eight. But in contrast to California, residents in Maine will have to wait until July, legally light.
Currently, Colorado, Washington, Nevada, Alaska and Oregon adults allow you to buy, sell, and smoke marijuana.
The new year also brings an increase in the minimum wage in several States.
In contrast to the Federal rate remain at $7.25, 10 States are dents phase-in numbers, beat, finally, the $15 per hour, while workers in eight US States- Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota – will see annual cost-of-living adjustments.
The minimum wage jumps 50-cents in California. Employees in companies with 26 or more workers at least $11 paid per hour. Companies with fewer than 25 employees, $10,50 to be paid per hour.
New Yorkers will also see an increase. On Long Island, and Westchester County, the minimum wage will increase from $1 to $11 per hour. In Manhattan, the minimum wage for employers with 10 or fewer employees increases to $12 to $10.50. For employers with 11 or more employees, the minimum wage jumps to $13 per hour from $11.
Changes to the weapons laws are also on the horizon.
California’s 6 million gun owners will not be able to buy bullets on-line and have delivered to their homes. A new rule, the buyer is required to pick up orders in person from a licensed provider. The state is also assault, clamping down on gifting weapons. Another new state law also prohibits people convicted of a hate crime possession of a weapon for 10 years.
In Tennessee, members of the U.S.-must be military, the firing-range portion of the training requirement to get a gun carry permit if he or she can prove that you passed, small arms, or combat pistol training, while serving.
New Jersey is the spin-off is an income tax credit to the mental health professionals who donate hours of consultation for members of the Gold Star families.
The state is also Gold Star family members free or reduced admission to state beaches, parks, museums and forests. Fees will also be waived by the state’s professional and occupational licensing boards. Families are also entitled to admission to the Department of military and veterans Affairs-homes and hospitals.
In Arkansas, there is no state income tax on military retirement pay. The state currently active duty military pay from state taxes. In January, it will be expanded to exempt military peace numbers as well.
Texas and West Virginia, the new electoral laws in the year 2018.
The voters in the Lone Star State will be able to cast a ballot without a photo ID, if you can show you have to get a “reasonable impediment” to In West Virginia, there are more options for the types of IDs accepted choice local. The voters will be able to show that traditional forms, such as driver’s licenses and passports, but also to be able to the use of non-photo IDs, such as bank-debit-cards, invoices, and concealed carry permits.
The new year offer more protection for the workers in New York, which relied on sick or family.
In New York, employees are entitled to paid family leave to care for a sick family member or to care for a newborn, foster or adoptive child. The law allows full-time employees, the eight weeks of the time. The leave is extended to 12 weeks in the year 2021.
Employers in the state of Washington required paid sick days for all employees. According to the new law, employees will earn one hour of sick leave for every 40 hours you work.
Kids caught sexting be subjected to in Colorado, to be a number of penalties, including lengthy lectures and courses about the consequences of sharing nude pics online, for an administrative offense. In severe circumstances, you could be charged with sexual exploitation.
Of victims of domestic violence in Illinois will soon be able to break their cell phone contracts. The new law also allows survivors to keep their phone numbers and save money on the costs associated with a new account, if they leave their abusers.
If the cops someone with a handheld phone that can be charged in a school zone, in Tennessee, the offense with a class C and a fine of $50.
In the year 2018, Pets are raised with a status of in Illinois. Dogs, cats and other four-legged fur-babies battles will be fair game in custody. The judge is instructed to consider what is best for the animal during the divorce proceedings.
The state is also exhibitions to ban elephants from circuses and traveling.
Oregon is looking to cash in on the motorcycle rider-in the year 2018. To pay bike the buyer a flat $15 fee for each bike that you buy, the cost more than $200. Company, collect the money, while the sale of the bike and rotate it to the state each quarter. Oregon will also bump up your gas tax by four cents per litre in January. Vehicle registration fees jump from $13.
And finally, it may come a little more equality to women in Illinois in the new year. All dry cleaners, tailors and hairdressers in the state have a price list for the services, if someone wishes to.
“We all know that, historically, women have paid more for dry cleaning, haircuts, and clothing. So, this bill is really about transparency, and ensure that the women know what you are paying for the same services, to get the men,” the bill’s sponsor, state Sen. Melinda Bush said.