Ajax coach Ten Hag wins for second time the Rinus Michels Award

Ajax-trainer Erik ten Hag has Friday the Rinus Michels Award for best trainer in the Eredivisie. It is the second time in his career that the Haaksbergenaar the prestigious prize packs.

The 49-year-old At the Hag to get the preferred Mark van Bommel (PSV), John van den Brom (AZ), Adrie Koster (Willem II) and Maurice Steijn (VVV-Venlo). In 2016 he won the Rinus Michels Award as coach of FC Utrecht.

In his first full season as coach of Ajax was At the Hag a good impression. The Locals were champion, and got the TOTO KNVB Cup, and ran just the final of the Champions League is wrong.

Ten Hag is the successor of Phillip Cocu, that the Rinus Michels Award last year on behalf of PSV won. In 2017 went to the prestigious award to Peter Bosz of Ajax.

“It is very special that I got this award for the second time win. Also because Michel, one of founding fathers is of where Ajax stands for’, says Ten Hag at FOX Sports. “I have not for nothing three photos on my office hung; Michels, Louis van Gaal and Johan Cruyff. These are the people that technically the biggest impact on Ajax.”


Ten Hag: “Here let Ajax once again shows how big the club is

Also Twente-coach Pusic distinguish

In the Kitchen Champion Division was Marino Pusic voted the best coach. He was champion with FC Twente, but still had to leave Enschede.

Pusic troefde Henk Fraser (Sparta Rotterdam), Willy Boessen (FC Den Bosch), Klaas Wels (TOP Oss) and Mike Snoei (Telstar) in the battle for the award.

It was further Laurens Knippenborg of RKZVC voted best amateurtrainer and got Ajax and DVS’33 Ermelo the Rinus Michels Award for best youth.

All prize winners in a row. (Photo: Pro Shots)

The previous eight winners Rinus Michels Award

Michel Preud’homme (FC Twente) received the award in 2011.

In 2012, the former Feyenoord trainer Ronald Koeman will be elected.
© ProShots

In 2013, Frank de Boer named coach of the year in the Eredivisie.

In 2014 won Frank the Farmer. His brother Ronald took the prize.

In 2015, it was Phillip Cocu the Rinus Michels Award.

2016: Erik ten Hag (FC Utrecht) gets the Rinus Michels Award.

In 2017 received Peter Bosz the prize from the hands of Leo Beenhakker.

In 2018 wins Phillip Cocu on behalf of PSV again.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular